Community Websites

Town of Magrath

Magrath is a vibrant, knowledge-centred community with some of the best schools in Alberta. It is also one of the most beautiful and most fitness-oriented communities in Western Canada. The Magrath Trail and its surrounding ecosystem, the Magrath Triathlon, and our new Career and Technology Studies program are just a few of the features of our growing community. Magrath is widely-considered to have an exceptional quality of life.

Town of Cardston

Located 45 minutes southwest of Lethbridge on Highway 5 and within sight of Montana and Waterton Lakes National Park, the Town of Cardston straddles the Lee Creek valley and serves as a shopping and tourist hub for southwest Alberta. The primary industries in Cardston are business and community service, retail and wholesale, construction, and public administration.

Village of Glenwood

Located just off the historic "Blue Trail” south of Fort Macleod at the foot of the Rocky Mountains, casual visitors stopping for double-scoop ice cream at the Pioneer Parlor might well consider Glenwood to be a place undisturbed by time. Leafy streets of cozy older homes on one-acre lots encourage the impression, as does the slender white spire of the church which identifies Glenwood is a creation of Mormon settlers in the first decade of the 1900s. Settled 100 years ago, many descendents of the original settlers still reside in Glenwood while others have moved to the area for its natural tranquility and sanctuary of small community living.

Village of Hill Spring

Hill Springs enjoys being right in the middle of nowhere, but a half hour from everywhere.

Where the quiet shadows of the Rocky Mountains meet the rolling plains east of Waterton Lakes National Park, the quiet village has ambition. Sixteen acres of municipally-owned land are available to prospective employers. A $2.1 investment in the future has been generated by a new water treatment plant. A general store, a miniature post office and an elementary school comprise Hill Spring's current employment base, with most of its working residents commuting daily to Cardston or Pincher Creek.

Blood Tribe / Kainai First Nation

The Blood Tribe has a population of 12,800 (2015) occupying approximately 549.7 square miles with a Timber Limit in the Rocky Mountains of approximately 7.5 square miles. Three rivers, the Old Man, St. Mary and Belly, border the Blood reserve. The traditional Blackfoot territory extends from the Rocky Mountains to the West; the Sand Hills to the East; to the North Saskatchewan in the North, and the Yellowstone in the South. The Blood Tribe Administration situated in Stand Off is the administrative centre of the Blood Tribe.


Westwind School Divison

Recognizing the growth and personal development of the student to be its major mandate, the Board of the Westwind School Division No. 74 shall carefully and conscientiously establish policies and manage financial matters to provide an environment where:

  • The Students will be able to develop their talents and skills, gain an appreciation of the worth and joy of learning, achieve academically at a level near their potential and ability, gain a feeling of self-worth, and understand the responsibilities that society places upon the individual.
  • The Staff will be caring, competent and motivated to render to the student the very best educational opportunity possible, whether directly in the classroom, or in a supporting role outside the classroom.
  • The Public feels it is informed and understands the decisions and policies of the Board and that avenues are provided to express feelings and concerns as they relate to educational decision.

M.D. of Pincher Creek

The peaks and connecting ridgelines of the Continental Divide sharply define the western boundary of the Municipal District of Pincher Creek – which extends from Waterton Lake National Park to a line north of Crowsnest Pass and east almost to Fort Macleod. The dramatic wall of rock known as the Rocky Mountain Front dominates the landscape and influences the way of life, the economy, and the weather throughout the Texas-shaped rural district.

County of Warner

A region of opportunity is found in the County of Warner, with its northern boundary located just south east of Lethbridge, Alberta and its southern border located on the Canada/United States border. 

The County landscape provides a variety of visual experiences.  Flatland to the rolling hills of the Milk River Ridge to the Hoodoos at Writing on Stone Provincial Park, from the recreation areas at Chin Lake and Ridge Reservoirs to the peaceful wetland at the Rush Lake Bird Sanctuary.

Lethbridge County

Lethbridge County is a municipal district in the heart of Southern Alberta. In the 2011 Census its population was 10,061.  At approximately 1,100 square miles, the County surrounds the City of Lethbridge and is known as the business and agricultural service centre for Southern Alberta.
Lethbridge County is the epitome of natural beauty, featuring vast stretches of golden prairie fields, the river valleys of the Old Man and Little Bow, and historic coulees.

Waterton Lakes National Park

Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park and the surrounding region has been recognized by National Geographic as one of North America’s "great unspoiled places.” The park enjoys two UNESCO designations: a World Heritage Site; and a Biosphere Reserve. It is the world’s first International Peace Park, along with Glacier National Park in Montana. It is also the centrepiece of a "Crown of the Continent” project from the National Geographic’s Center for Sustainable Destinations.

Waterton Biosphere Reserve

Located in the southwestern corner of Alberta, the Waterton Biosphere Reserve (WBR) is one of only 18 biosphere reserves in Canada. The WBR area encompasses some of the most spectacular and ecologically diverse landscapes in the Canadian Rockies and prairie grasslands. Designated in 1979 by UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization), the WBR fosters and encourages a sustainable, community-based regional economy, with quality biodiversity, landscape and social values.

Alberta SouthWest

Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance (AlbertaSW) is a group of 16 communities, working together for regional economic development. The collaborative initiatives focus on creating the right environment in which balanced growth can occur, increasing prosperity for all members.

Alberta SouthWest represents a total membership population just over 33,000 and covers an area of 16,705 km2. What defines AlbertaSW is commitment to rural communities and pride in quality of life and opportunity. The communities endeavour to help each other succeed, knowing that when one community thrives, there is the potential for every community to benefit.


SouthGrow is an economic development alliance of twenty-four south central Alberta communities committed to working together to achieve prosperity for the region. Representing over 130,000 people, SouthGrow is committed to assisting communities, organizations, businesses and people  in the region to further their economic development goals and to maintain the high quality of life.
SouthGrow’s Goal:  To accelerate and enhance economic development and sustainability for the communities in the SouthGrow Regional Initiative region.